Re: garden culture - questions

back / zurück

Abgeschickt von Chuck Sheviak am 19 Juni, 2000 um 20:52:26

Antwort auf: Re: garden culture - questions von Peter Corkhill am 17 Juni, 2000 um 21:16:22:

: Could you define what is meant by "muck" as this is not a term we are familiar with in the UK, even some soil scientists I asked were unsure.

"Muck" is a technical term here, or at least it was 30 years ago when I was learning such things. It is an organic soil of calcareous fens, whether these form in water-filled basins or are fed by springs. It is the product of decomposition of sedge peat and/or non-sphagnum mosses. It is far more thoroughly decomposed than sedge peat, is not fibrous and in fact lacks most signs of vegetation except for an occasional piece of wood. It is black when wet and dries to a dark gray. It can be reduced to powder in the hand. I think (I'm not a soil scientist)it forms in fens with a 'swinging' water table, where the surface periodically becomes less saturated due to a drop in the water table (as commonly occurs in late summer), and the resulting aeration promotes decomposition of the base-rich peat.

: Is there any organic matter in the fine dune sand you use on its own for C. kentuckiense cultivation? You don't mention using fertilizer at all so where does the plant get its nutrition?